In Pursuit of Higher Education and A Respite from Vampirism

Sh*t just got real.

Sh*t just got real.

It has recently come to my attention that I greet my Kindle every morning much in the same way that Pee Wee Herman does his bike in his Big Adventure. “Good Morning,” I whisper reverently. “I’m here.”

I mention this only because today I have spent the morning looking away from my precious magic book and sighing, and I felt it would be prudent to point out exactly how anomalous that is. I have to read a book today that I just can’t seem to get into. And I know it has nothing to do with my not being interested in it or the subject (because, indeed I am), and everything to do with the fact that it’s homework and I’ve spoiled myself into reading according to my voracious literary whims.
Yes that’s right folks, homework. This bitch be back to school. And school dictates that today I read Hesiod’s Theogony, which is all well and good. I mean, I signed up for this myths class at UPenn because I love mythology. I spent the entire summer of 2011 reading nothing but Norse mythology and Sandman comics. Because I am awesome.

Right now, despite having just inhaled the Odyssey, I can’t seem to get into this. Maybe it is because so far it’s just a flowery list of mythy figures. I dunno. It’s pissing me off…

I expect more of myself.

But yeah, I go to big kid school now. Or I should say again – I already have a fine arts degree from a middling northeastern university. Now I’m taking a handful of classes from UPenn and some physics courses from Stanford. I have an over-full course load, with a tight schedule, that frankly doesn’t allow much time for blogging or anything creative.

So far everything is going really well. Am nearing the end of the semester, and the physics classes evaporate in about two weeks. I find them both thrilling and frustrating. I would appreciate them more if I was taking one class at a time, instead of a slew at once, but it’s okay. I am a physics slut after all, so I make do.  Am not quite sure if this will develop into anything, but I guess my ultimate endgame would be a doctorate. We’ll see though. One step at a time and all that.

I do have to say, the immediate benefits to this have been rather enlightening. Between the physics and the lit classes I’ve been getting a lot of great stuff for my novel. Not pilfering, just support and inspiration. So I’ve actually managed to map out some new directions based on my class on relativity alone. It’s amazing what a little theory can do.

In other news, my vampirism has been downgraded from a ‘threat’ to a ‘menace’. That means I don’t have to get stabbed every other week, just once every few months. It also means I won’t need treatments for a while, which is the best part. I mean, I know it’s not something really awful, but try telling that to my stomach. I reacted so poorly to the infusions they put me on the same antiemetics they give to chemo patients. I was the hurl queen, on the scene.
The aenemia will never truly go away, but for now I’m stable.

That’s right people – a medical professional hath declared me stable. Oh, those puny fools.

So for now the babies of the world are safe from my straw. Now my hair has to stop falling out and my fingernails have to turn to the more natural hues of the living. Then I think I will be alright.

I know I haven’t updated much, and this was sort of brief, unamusing and didn’t go anywhere. So before I return to my assigned reading I proffer this brief playlist of tunes I wrote this to. I am sort of the ruler of Pinterest and Spotify these days, so I will try to integrate those aspects of my annoyance in future blag posts. Until then:

Andrew Bird – Sythian Empire
Cat Stevens – Wild World
Andrew Bird – Oh No
Jose Gonzalez – Sensing Owls, Time to Send Someone Away
Iron & Wine – Boy With A Coin
Fleet Foxes – Mykonos
David Bowie – Oh You Pretty Things
MGMT – Electric Feel, Time to Pretend
David Bowie – Sound and Vision
The Flaming Lips – Fight Test
Kristin Hersh – Velvet Days
The Sugarcubes -Delicious Demon

Leave a Reply

